Banana pecan muffins with a nutella swirl -or- I am not a food photographer

15 Aug

I thought for a moment that I should become one of those super cool baking and/or cooking bloggers. You know, they take super artistic pictures of their food, have sharp step-by-step pictures and instructions, peppered with witty comments. Then eventually they publish a cookbook that I can’t afford (I’m looking at you Smitten Kitchen)

I like to cook, I find it mostly fun, occasionally frustrating. But I love to bake.

I love taking a few ingredients (or in many cases more than a few) and making something delicious. I have wanted to make these muffins for a while now. But I didn’t have any eggs. But today, I got paid, I went grocery shopping and I made these delicious Nutella Banana Swirl Muffins. And I contemplated becoming one of those cool bloggers who has neat pictures of everything they do. Then I decided making these as quickly as possible was more important. But if you use your imagination you can see it

*Picture me whisking all of my dry goods together in my vintage Pyrex mixing bowl*
*Now, I smash my bananas and mix in all the wet ingredients*
*Look at me chopping those pecans, like a pro*
*dang those muffin tins look exactly 3/4 of the way full* and why yes that is more than a mere teaspoon of Nutella swirled through*

It’s like you were here in my kitchen with me (creepy)

I then proceeded to burn my fingers and my mouth eating one less than a minute after they were taken out of the oven.

Don’t those look just lovely (a food photographer I am not, but I did use my canisters as the background, I am just so dang artsy)

There are a lot of things that make me love baking, but my most favorite is sharing the food I make. Tonight I took a plate of these muffins over to my neighbor and we had a nice chat about things while sitting on their front porch sharing food. To me making food counts as an act of service and often leads to quality time (my two love languages) and I think that’s why I love it so much.

Now excuse me while I got eat another muffin with all of its
banana, Nutella, pecan goodness




*I am not capable of filling muffins tins evenly.

Leave a Reply

Deb Palmer

Philippians 4:13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

veggiezest

Vegan & Vegetarian recipes from around the world

Life Between the Lines

observations in mediocrity

carrie hokanson

vagabond confessions

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

